New Zealand teams announced for PACC 2012

Peter de Boer and his NZ men's team will looking for more success at PACC 2012 Photo: WCF/Richard Gray

The New Zealand Curling selectors have announced that the Men's team who earned a 5th place at April's World Men's Curling Championship will remain as the national side for the coming year.

This was despite a loss by Peter de Boer's Black Rocks to the NZ Senior Men's side in the final of the NZ Championship earlier in July.

"We've kept faith with the side," said Darren Carson, convener of the selection panel, "They were the dominant side at our National Championships apart from an 'off' game in the final, and they were just outstanding with their fifth place in Switzerland. We think that they can continue with that kind of form."

Birkenhead College student Kelsi Heath, a Youth Olympian in January, is the new face in the New Zealand Women's side.

The National teams to compete in November's Pacific-Asia Curling Championship on home ice in Naseby, Otago, are as follows:

Men: Peter de Boer (Auckland Curling Club), Sean Becker (Ranfurly CC), Scott Becker (Ranfurly CC), Kenny Thomson (Auckland CC) and Philip Dowling (Mt Ida CC). Warren Dobson (Mt Ida CC) has been recommended as non-travelling reserve.

Women: Bridget Becker (Ranfurly CC), Brydie Donald (Dunedin CC), Marisa Jones (Ranfurly CC), Kelsi Heath (Auckland CC) and Thivya Jeyaranjan (Auckland CC).

A top-two finish in the Pacific-Asia Championship will qualify a side for their respective 2013 World Championship where they can earn Olympic qualifying points. Peter de Boer's side have a very real chance of doing just that if they play to their potential and earn the right to add to the points they secured in Switzerland.

Share this page

Official WCF Partners